The status of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) in the U.S. continues to evolve; the CDC issued a Health Alert Network on February 28, 2020 with recommendations on identifying people at risk for COVID-19 and preventing transmission. Clinical features of COVID-19 are nonspecific, fever and respiratory illness (e.g., cough or shortness of breath), and easily overlap those of more common viral illnesses such as influenza. Current recommendations are for everyone to practice good hand washing; and for health care facilities to ask patients with symptoms about travel history and exposure to any person with laboratory-confirmed COVID-19, and to collaborate on screening practices with local health departments.

.

Solution Share Chapter Member Chat

All of the recorded chats will be posted below and resources linked to the Resources Updates section below.

.

RESOURCE UPDATES (as of 5.18.2020)

We encourage you to monitor the latest information and key messages being shared by the CDC, AAP and local health departments:

Addressing Local Needs & Questions:

For Families:

For Pediatricians:

 

UPDATE: 03.16.2020

Things are changing every day. Please visit National AAP’s Critical Updates for the most up-to-date clinical guidance, coding information, information on PPE, telemedicine and telephone care resources and more. For further questions, please email COVID-19@aap.org.

 

UPDATE: 03.06.2020

What should I expect to see in my office/clinic if COVID-19 becomes widespread in my community? What do I need to do to prepare? What is the best PPE to have/use? Why aren’t kids getting sick? We have answers to these questions and more from our Chapter Immunization Champion Dr. Dean Blumberg and District IX Resident Represenative Dr. Lena van der List.

Here is a list of resources for you from the CDC, AAP, CDPH, all 48 county public health departments of our chapter and resources for children, youth and families. Please see below links to useful websites and resources:

 

US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

 

American Academy of Pediatrics

 

California Department of Public Health

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/Immunization/nCOV2019.aspx

 

For Children, Youth and Families

 

County Public Health Departments (listed by regions of our chapter)

North Valley (Region 1)

Butte County: http://www.buttecounty.net/ph/

Glenn County: https://www.countyofglenn.net/dept/health-human-services/public-health/welcome

Lassen County: https://www.publichealthdepartments.us/details/lassen_county_public_health_department.html

Modoc County: https://modochealthservices.org/

Plumas County: https://www.plumascounty.us/91/Public-Health-Agency

Shasta County: https://www.co.shasta.ca.us/index/hhsa/public-health

Sierra County: https://www.sierracounty.ca.gov/269/Public-Health

Siskiyou County: https://www.co.siskiyou.ca.us/publichealth

Sutter County: https://www.suttercounty.org/doc/government/depts/hs/ph/hs_public_health

Tehama County: https://www.tehamacohealthservices.net/

Trinity County: https://www.trinitycounty.org/Public-Health

Yuba County: https://www.yuba.org/departments/health_and_human_services/index.php

Sacramento Valley (Region 2)

El Dorado County: https://www.edcgov.us/Government/PublicHealth

Nevada County: https://www.mynevadacounty.com/551/Public-Health

Placer County: https://www.placer.ca.gov/2863/Public-Health

Sacramento County: https://dhs.saccounty.net/PUB/Pages/PUB-Home.aspx

Yolo County: https://www.yolocounty.org/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control

Central Valley (Region 3)

Alpine County: https://www.alpinecountyca.gov/index.aspx?NID=201

Amador County: https://www.amadorgov.org/services/public-health

Calaveras County: https://publichealth.calaverasgov.us/

San Joaquin County: http://www.sjcphs.org/

Stanislaus County: http://www.schsa.org/PublicHealth/

Tuolumne County: https://www.tuolumnecounty.ca.gov/250/Public-Health

South Valley (Region 4)

Fresno County: https://www.co.fresno.ca.us/departments/public-health

Inyo County: https://www.inyocounty.us/services/health-human-services/public-health-and-prevention-division

Kings County: https://www.countyofkings.com/departments/health-welfare/public-health

Madera County: https://www.maderacounty.com/government/public-health

Mariposa County: https://www.mariposacounty.org/89/Public-Health

Merced County: https://www.co.merced.ca.us/82/Public-Health

Mono County: https://monohealth.com/public-health

Tulare County: https://tchhsa.org/eng/index.cfm/public-health/

San Francisco (Region 5)

San Francisco (includes Daly City) County: https://www.sfdph.org/dph/default.asp

Santa Clara (Region 6)

Santa Clara County: https://www.sccgov.org/sites/phd/Pages/phd.aspx

San Mateo (Region 7)

San Mateo County: https://www.smchealth.org/

North Coastal (Region 8)

Del Norte County: http://www.co.del-norte.ca.us/departments/health-human-services/public-health

Humboldt County: https://humboldtgov.org/330/Public-Health

Lake County: http://health.co.lake.ca.us/

Marin County: https://www.marinhhs.org/public-health

Mendocino County: https://www.mendocinocounty.org/government/health-and-human-services-agency/public-health

Napa County: https://www.countyofnapa.org/PublicHealth/

Sonoma County: https://sonomacounty.ca.gov/Health/Public-Health/

Monterey Bay Area (Region 9)

Monterey County: https://www.co.monterey.ca.us/government/departments-a-h/health/public-health

San Benito County: https://hhsa.cosb.us/publichealth/

Santa Cruz County: https://www.santacruzhealth.org/

Alameda (Region 10)

Alameda County: http://www.acphd.org/

Contra Costa and Solano (Region 11)

Contra Costa County: https://cchealth.org/public-health/

Solano County: http://www.solanocounty.com/depts/ph/default.asp

 

MORE:

National Institutes of Health

https://www.nih.gov/health-information/coronavirus

 

National Library of Medicine

https://www.nlm.nih.gov/index.html#Novel_Coronavirus

 

Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering

Map Tracks Coronavirus Outbreak in Near Real Time

 

The Lancet

https://www.thelancet.com/coronavirus

 

The New England Journal of Medicine

https://www.nejm.org/coronavirus

 

World Health Organization

Interim Clinical Guidance: https://www.who.int/publications-detail/clinical-management-of-severe-acute-respiratory-infection-when-novel-coronavirus-(ncov)-infection-is-suspected

 

European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (great graphics!)

https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/geographical-distribution-2019-ncov-cases