Back to Calendar

AAPCA1 Annual Membership Meeting

Wednesday, October 4, 2023

7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Join us for our annual California Chapter 1, AAP Membership Meeting! This year, we are honored to have a very special guest: Dr. Benjamin Hoffman, MD, CPST-I, FAAP, AAP President-Elect. Dr. Hoffman will be sharing his incredible journey in the field of pediatric advocacy. His insights and experiences as the AAP President-Elect promise to be enlightening and inspiring for all attendees.

During this meeting, we will also provide a comprehensive recap of the impactful work that our chapter and dedicated chapter leaders have accomplished throughout the year. It’s a chance to celebrate our successes and reflect on our shared commitment to pediatric healthcare. We encourage you to join us to learn from Dr. Ben Hoffman’s experience advocating for children and our chapter’s impact!




Meet our Guest Speaker!

Benjamin Hoffman, MD, CPST-I, FAAP – AAP President-Elect

Dr. Benjamin Hoffman is a semi-native of New Mexico. He majored in Anthropology at the University of California at Berkeley, and attended Harvard Medical School. He completed residency training, and a year as Chief Resident, at Seattle Children’s Hospital. Following training, he and his wife, Dr. Jane, also a pediatrician, spent 4 years on the Navajo Nation with the Indian Health Service, where he worked with the community to develop a child passenger safety program. From 2000-2011, he was director of the pediatric residency program at the University of New Mexico.

Dr. Hoffman is a nationally recognized expert in child passenger safety, and leader in the field of community health and advocacy training for pediatric residents. He is a Professor of Pediatrics at Doernbecher Children’s Hospital and Oregon Health and Science University. There, he is the Vice-Chair for Community Health and Advocacy, Director of the Oregon Center for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, and Medical Director of the Tom Sargent Safety Center. Has served as the director of the American Academy of Pediatrics Community Pediatrics Training Initiative and is the immediate past-Chair of the American Academy of Pediatrics Council on Injury Violence and Poison Prevention. He was recently elected to be the President-Elect of the American Academy of Pediatrics. He remains very active in child health policy and community advocacy.